Home >> More Regulatory news >> This Article

Five African Countries Agree to Coordinate Radio Spectrum Policies

Published on:

Note -- this news article is more than a year old.

Five African countries Benin, Burkina, Mali, Niger and Chad have signed an agreement to coordinate the management of radio spectrum, reports the Agence de Presse Africaine news agency. The agreement particularly provides a settlement process for spectrum use along national borders where interference can be at its worst.

"Though the spectrum of radio-electric frequencies is reusable, it is a limited source that needs to be soundly managed", the caretaker chairman of the Niger national regulation Council, Pereira Charafadine explained.

These five countries seek, he said, to jointly endorse and sign a document on the coordination and sharing of frequencies at their common borders, in line with the Article 6 of the Telecommunication Regulations stated by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU).

On the web: Agence de Presse Africaine

Sign up for our free email news alerts

Sample Copy

Tags: radio spectrum  Benin  Burkina Faso  Mali  Niger