Home >> More Personnel news >> This Article

Sprint Nextel Appoints Former Ericsson Director to its Board

Published on:

Note -- this news article is more than a year old.

US mobile operator, Sprint Nextel has appointed former Ericsson director, Sven Christer Nilsson to its board of directors. The company also announced the resignation of Ralph V. Whitworth from the board.

"Sven-Christer has more than 30 years of experience in the IT and telecommunications industries and will be a strong addition to our board," said James Hance, chairman of the board of Sprint Nextel. "His expertise and counsel will help guide Sprint as it works to improve performance and profitability."

"I would also like to thank Ralph Whitworth for his contributions to our board," said Hance. "Although only on the board for a short period of time, Ralph's knowledge of the business, his keen insight, and his focus on turning around the business were invaluable. On behalf of the entire company, I want to thank Ralph for his effort and expertise."

Prior to his current advisory business, Nilsson, 64, worked with The Ericsson Group from 1982 through 1999, including serving as president, Ericsson Radio Systems (Sweden), as vice president, Mobile Switching Systems, as executive vice president and general manager, Cellular Systems-American Standards, and as president and chief executive officer. Nilsson also serves as a director of ASSA Abloy AB, Tilgi, and CEVA. In addition, Nilsson is Chairman of the Boards of Directors of Swedish ICT Research and of the (Swedish) Public Service Broadcasting Foundation. He also is a member of The Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences.

Nilsson will serve on the Sprint Nextel board until the 2009 annual meeting, when he will be nominated for re-election by shareholders.

Sign up for our free email news alerts

Sample Copy

Tags: edge  sprint nextel  ericsson  ict  sprint  nextel